If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

T'Owld Yak

A normal Sunday.  It began with my habitual lie-in  and then a gentle morning pottering about.  Clickychick as is her habit had been out during the morning.

Mid afternoon we decided to pop out and visit T'Owld Yak again.  Every time I see it I am amazed.  The size, the signs that in the long gone by it has had big lumps swan off it and just the sheer tenacity of having survived so long.   Size - the trunk must be about 4 feet (1.3m) in diameter.  Age - I said the other day 400 years, however some sources suggest nearer 600.

The limb which has the diameter of a good sized tree is propped up as there is a legend which says "should a branch touch the ground the fortunes of the Lowther family will fall".

I was unable to get a shot of the whole tree as there is a necessary fence round the tree which spoils shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.