Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Titanic!

I travelled with the bicycle to the new flat and left it locked at the foot of the communal staircase. Then I went out and about round my new home town exploring its retail possibilities whilst kitting the flat out with basic essentials that I do not already own.
Economical, yes, but also ethical and sustainable. Local where possible. Natural where possible. Organic where possible. Minimum packaging. It was not easy but I am happy with the day's work.

There were wobbly moments. I have only once before kitted out a home from scratch, with so few personal effects brought from a previous home as to make any difference. Last time there were two of us choosing things together spending wedding gift money for household items we would both be using. This time it's just my money and my choice.

And after hours and hours and hours of slogging back and forth, gaining not even a single redundant plastic bag, I made my way on foot back to the railway station. The bicycle has become a part of me and I missed her presence. I was able to use the underpass. The trains were dreadful. There was a replacement bus service I could have taken, unhindered as I was, by my bicycle. But I decided I would wait for the next train anyway. You can't celebrate your final train journey on a replacement bus service now can you!

I was able to pop out through the front entrance of Dartford Railway Station and see it from the street. Goodness that was a surprise! I had just assumed its footprint was racetrack shaped. I hadn't been expecting bulges and scallops. I'd love to see a plan drawing of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.