Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Matuku-moana, Reef Heron,

It is described as uncommon in my bird book. I have seen one in our area a couple of times but never photographed it. Also found in Japan, South East Asia and Australia. Known also as blue heron or Pacific egret.
Trev and I went for a bit of a drive to look at apple blossom by the hectare and ended up at the wharf knowing the tide was in full and it was a big one.
I could see the heron right on the end of a line of rocks about 20 metres out. At the edge of my zoom length.However some cropping has found I got the odd sharpish one.
Extras show how they hide in the rocks and how far out they are.

Daylight saving started for us today. We have had a funny day watching rugby at lunch time when the All Blacks won against the Pumas but not too convincingly. Then our time clock has been all out and we seemed to be behind all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.