Shredded Wheat

It is some time since I last photographed the old Shredded Wheat factory in Welwyn Garden City.  This is the first time I've been able to photograph it from this viewpoint as the foreground buildings have been demolished in the last few months - as has part of the factory.

There used to be 45 silos, but much of the building has now been demolished, leaving just18 silos (which I think are listed).  I believe that these will be retained in the planned development of the site as a nod to the importance of this building in the history of Welwyn. The rest of the site will become housing (1400 homes is the last figure I saw) plus a museum and art and leisure facilities (although that may all change by the time they start - or finish - construction).

It is interesting to compare this sunlit view of the factory with my previoius blips of the site here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.