The next stage

On 14 September I posted a photo of the completely unfurled frond of a Ponga (tree fern). In the 17 days since then there has been much opening out, as is shown here.

I was down at the inpatient unit for the monthly meeting of psychiatrists. The numbers in attendance were sufficient this month for a quorum. Most of the meeting was a conversation between the Chief Medical Officer and the psychiatrists, and that went well. The CMO encouraged them to try and join in with the rest of the senior medical staff in the hospital, to be involved in research and generally promoted a more academic approach to our work than many have been taking.

After she left, talk continued and there was interest in my proposal for algorithms to try and standardise assessment, and care based on defendable evidence. Some were enthusiastic and I dropped in a quote from Kronman (a legal philosophy I read more than 20 years ago); "A professional is someone who is in life long pursuit of excellence". They all liked that and we had volunteers to be involved in the preliminary audits before finalising the algorithms. As the next step in the process of what I have been charged with establishing for antipsychotic prescribing is about to be taken this is timely. 

I felt enthusiastic and energised. Until I got back to my desk to be faced with all the problems that suddenly emerged and made me very late home today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.