Return of the Godwits

September is when the kuaka arrive in New Zealand from the Arctic. Many fly non stop. They return to the same areas of New Zealand every year. A few may have been here the last time I was at the Beachhouse, but if so I didn't see them. This morning I left for a jog along Erceg's Way (which runs the full length of Snells Beach) before the sun rose. High tide had been a couple of hours earlier, so I thought it possible I might see the kuaka. I took the little Canon as it has a case to protect it from rain, which I anticipated (correctly).
My sunrise photos were okay, and I turned back two thirds of the way along the path. I had been running for a while when I saw a group of birds about 200 m offshore. Even with my imperfect vision, they looked like kuaka, so I headed across the sand towards the water's edge and the birds. There were at least 45, possibly as many as 50. I got to within 10 - 15 m, and got this photo (among others taken as I slowly went closer).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.