Autumn Elderberries and a New Camera

For the last 18 months I’ve been taking pictures with my 2012 Olympus XZ1. Before that I used a Fujifilm X20 that technically belonged to Mid Sweden University, but when I finally finished work they wanted their camera back. I’d already bought the Olympus from a very techie technician at work, to have as a back-up, so it became my stop gap replacement. That I then used it for 18 months is a tribute to how good it is. But there have been a lot of developments in the last 6 years and in the end the price of the Lumix TZ 100 came down far enough that I decided it was time to relegate the Olympus to it’s original status as my back-up camera, or the one to take kayaking.
The Lumix TZ 100 arrived a couple of days ago but I carried on using the Olympus for my "real" pictures, while I fiddled with the buttons, played around and read the Lumix manual (I wonder if I’m the only person who reads the manual before using their camera?) However,
I decided the first day of a new month was a good time to switch over so here are two of my first pictures with the new camera.
I’m very happy with the quality. There’s a lot of pixels on a 1 inch sensor and that shows up in the details. The elderberries in the main image are very small.
All those pixels also means you can clip out a part of an image when the zoom doesn’t get you close enough.  Janet’s Lumix has a X30 zoom, but this one “only” has an optical X10 zoom. Mind you, reading the manual has shown me that Lumix now have an “intelligent” zoom setting which doubles the zoom to X20 without reducing the quality of the image (they say).  Then on top of that there’s digital zoom but I won’t be using that.
The extra is taken with that “intelligent” zoom setting, and then clipped slightly in the computer.  In this picture from last October you can see how far away the wind turbine is from our house. It’s the one on the horizon on the far right.
So many buttons, so many settings, so many choices - this is going to be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.