Coffee

place in Sisters. An impressive place, totally made with beautiful white wood. Since I am in America, I have seen many coffee places. It is an important part of the day for my husband to go and get a cup of coffee outside of the house - a thing that I had a hard time understanding, when I first came from Germany. I always thought that the coffee that I could make at home would be just as good, if not better than the one at coffee places. And less expensive. But meanwhile I do understand. It is a lot about the atmosphere, and the American coffee has become a lot better in the last 15 years. It is about going 'out'...And for him it is about an hour of reading without being interrupted by me :-)
The town Sisters is very small, and is named after the three big mountains that are visible from many places in town. Old volcanoes and not dead yet...
Today we drove to Bend, 30 miles south of Sisters, which is the biggest town in Central Oregon. 20000 inhabitants and spread out over a large surface. Beautifully located at the Deschutes River, with many parks , lots of beautiful big trees (inspite of being in the high desert) , over 300 businesses in the 4 block down town area, lots of cafes with space outside and right in that area a lot of great streets where people live in beautiful houses. So not a place where after 8 PM there would be no more people around. I put an extra of the perhaps best location for living in town here: right on the Deschutes River.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.