Panic and run

Today it's been "panic and run" - the discovery that my six year old Apple refused to boot up. Moreover it made ominous whirling noises as if it was about to explode.

So I got an emergency appointment with the Genius bar in Glasgow.


How do you transport an Imac 30 miles in pouring rain. The answer is : with great difficulty. Thank goodness for suitcases with wheels.

The bearded Genius guy is cool, aaffable.( Nothing fazes them in there.)

Had I backed up? Well, sort of...

I had mentally prepared myself for the worst: a dead computer and six years lost work.

Then it happened. The guy switched it on and up came the blue screen.

"Sometimes this happens...you've been lucky... unplugging the power can re-start."
So I have spent the rest of the day backing up.

My emergency blip is this three-legged woman, bought as a last minute souvenir from Sicily.

What is she about?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.