Tea break

I went somewhere new today - this is South Swale which is across Faversham creek from Oare Marshes. The tide was out and there were a few bait-diggers out; this crew were enjoying a break. I saw some Brent geese and had a wander on the shingle until it was time for lunch. Off to Sainsbury's and then........

There is a line in Robbie Robertson's wonderful "Somewhere down the crazy river" where the response to a question about why he always ends up at Nick's cafe is "I don't know, the wind just kind of pushed me this way". That's how I appear to be with Oare Marshes and, sure enough, I went there to eat my picnic and enjoy the silence and the sight of lots of birds including a brief visit by a merlin which certainly woke up the roosting waders.

Check out this bad boy in big!

Time for food and beer - I think I deserve it. That's Thursday home and hosed hombres; allow yourself a break before diving headlong in to that Weekend Eve that starts when the alarm goes off in the morning. Hasta mañana!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.