Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Diamonds, bergs and stranger things

We had the most glorious day today.  The weather was superb.  That will probably be it for the trip but what a day it was.  We went back to the stacks and took little heed of the warning for sneaker waves.  These waves come out of the blue and whisk away tourists.  John unfortunately got wet feet, shoes and socks from just such a sneaker wave.  I wish I could say I know better from all my experience back home, but this evening I got caught on Diamond beach where this shot was taken.

From the stacks it was a drive to our new hotel further along towards Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon.  We are staying about a 30 minutes drive from it.  On the way we saw amazing glaciers and stopped at a canyon which sadly you don't appear to be able to walk through anymore.  Considering the number of tourists there are here probably not a bad thing.

We checked in and then headed to Jokulsarlon.  What a difference a bright sunny afternoon makes to it.  I could see the snow capped mountains behind and the huge glacier.  The last time I was there is was shrouded in cloud.

From there it was on to Diamond beach where this shot was taken.  I had a hard time picking a blip today but somehow this one best explains where the beach gets it's name.

Back to the hotel and I was hoping to see the Aurora tonight.  Nothing so far which is why I am posting so late (I have been outside aurora hunting).  We had a wonderful meal.  Gee the food is good.  I must continue to be a poor correspondent for a while but at least the wiffy is good here. 

I have put a few extras up on flickr here as I have run out of extra photos.

Oh and the stranger things was a wedding shoot done in the middle of nowhere, certain tourists who were throwing stones in the lagoon (why would you despoil something as beautiful as that), more tourists standing on rocks and in the way and more selfie sticks that those blacks sands on diamond beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.