Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Squirrel

Not red I'm afraid. The red squirrel has long since disappeared from Surrey.
I found a new entry onto the canal from very near the supermarket. Another track I hadn't walked and easy to combine with a hated trip shopping.

Along the river bank they have pollarded a number of ancient Crack Willow trees, Salix fragilis. Estimated to be around 150 years old, these trees naturally crack, rot and regenerate. They are an important habitat for many animals, amphibians and insects which use the crumbling wood and holes as places to hide and to breed. This squirrel probably used this tree as an escape route regularly until they cut it down, this time legitimately to conserve it. I felt a little sorry when it was stuck not far from the ground with excited spaniels not far below, but it did give me my blip. Of course, both dogs were stopped from harassing it immediately. Pest or not it is not a dogs toy.

I did notice traps placed discreetly in the area so it may not be around for long. I know a woman who on finding a young but sick squirrel, took it to a local vet. Cute or not they do an incredible amount of damage and are classified as a pest. She was incredulous when told that he had to destroy it. By law they cannot be released again into the wild.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.