Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Not the best start to the day, finding that the little Sony wouldn't take a picture and wouldn't retract its lens, but I elected to leave it plugged in and hopefully recharging and try to forget about it during the day. It did feel odd, leaving the house without a camera, like passing through Dartford station without a bicycle.

But at work the day began to improve, more applications are osmosing across to the correct user name and I can no longer log-in as my former self, she no longer works there. My to-do list has not osmosed, I cannot see it and my manager cannot assign new tasks to me. This is funny, but happily I have two massive long-term projects with which to occupy myself so having tidied up the graphic project sweetly yesterday, I had time to work a little magic on the facilities project. A moment of utter genius and both my line manager and I were left rubbing our eyes in astonishment.

The actual boss came in! I've not met him before but he seems like a genuinely kind and thoughtful person and he seems to rather like having staff working for him who enjoy their job. Up until now the post has been filled by agency staff who regard it as the short straw.

The bed had provided me with such a blissfully comfortable night's sleep. I've got a cycle front lamp attached round a strut in case I need to use the ladder in the otherwise dark and the pigeons are mostly silent during the night, but though the bed is comfy, I am not fond of the ladder. I need to accept that I am not a 45-year old any longer. So with a plan in mind I went around the shops after work and found this shelving unit to use as a staircase and place to tie shoelaces. I have installed it the strong way, not the pretty way and it is actually surprisingly good quality for the price, as is the little battery drill kit I bought the night before because I was in need of a tiny drill bit.

Oh, and yes, I am piggy-backing on my very kind neighbour's broadband and during the construction of my storcase, the little Sony blinked its eye and woke up :-)

Happy, happy day – three steps to awesome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.