middle of nowhere

By nipponnay

Hamamatsu (Snow) Castle

God, I have so many photos to choose from for the weekend. I haven't got them on flickr/picasa yet, but when I do I'll post links, for those that are interested.

This photo gives a taster of what was at the Snow Festival. This is Hamamatsu Castle. I'm not sure who the guy is in the foreground, some samuri dude no doubt! The detail on the snow sculptures was amazing. Unfortunately, there was no pokemon statues, but I did find a Goomba, so I was happy :D Saturday also saw us making snowmen and playing ice golf. It was a great day.

The Yuki Matsuri had it's 60th Anniversary this year. It started with 6 high school kids building small snow statues in Odori Park. A few years later, men from the Japanese Army joined in to help and started to make the big statues. Over the years it's gotten bigger and more famous. It was brilliant, and I hope to go again next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.