middle of nowhere

By nipponnay

Yuki-akari-no-michi

This is Otaru Canal. Around the same time as the Yuki Matsuri, there is another festival in Otaru - The Yuki-akari-no-michi (Snow Light Path). It is in it's 11th year this year. Here, the locals build much smaller snow statues, igloos, and such, and put candles inside, which of course are lit up in the evening. It was spectacular, and impossible for me to capture it on my rubbish camera!

Anywho, there was also an Ice Bar, which is a small hut made of ice blocks, where you could go and have a nice hot glass of gluwein, yum!

We also went skiing on Sunday. It was our first time, and we had NO idea what to do. Literally no help at all. Still, I taught myself how to stop, which I am pretty chuffed about. I can't even stop on ice skates and I've been doing that since I was a wee kiddie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.