When Ah waz a lad. . . . .

I saw this, had a hunt around, and a paraphrase of a chorus leapt to mind:-

"We're turning into Yanks,
I think we're turning into yanks,
I really think so, I really think so."
IF you don't recognise it, and can suffer it as far as the 1st Chorus.

We grew up calling this Sarsaparilla; which tended to be pronounced "Sasperella". We, also, had some stuff called "American cream soda".
See what I mean?
Our Sarsaparilla has become Root beer.
"They" have excommunicated the "American" and it's now on sale as merely - "Cream Soda".
And don't let me get started on Crisps Vs. Chips Vs. French fries.
Some folk on the radio are even saying "Monday through Friday."
I'm wondering how long till our rising generations start using their accent too.
Rant over - feel free to "chillax", if it floats your particular boat.
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.