Ode to Autumn

I saw this bag at a local store and just had to have it.  I'm such a fan of Autumn and as we've already had 2 snowfalls and feels like winter is coming early, I'm just not ready to say good bye.  When I saw this bag with it's 'hello Autumn' greeting, it reminded me of a simple piece I wrote a number of years ago.  It was a different time as I was in a different space, but thought I'd share it with you anyway. 

Ode to Autumn

My friend Autumn came to see me the other day.  Her beauty unchanged...yet ever-changing.  We’ve been friends a long time and even though I hadn’t seen or heard from her in almost a year we picked up where we left off.  It was comfortable...familiar, and that made me feel safe.  As we caught up, I noticed how the sun danced on her auburn hair and her hazel eyes shone bright with the promise of hope.  I realized again, what a good and faithful friend she is.  We began to unearth the purpose of her visit and I became aware as the coolness of her breath swept across my face.  It was as if I awoke from a long slumber, to be reminded of what was, what is and what’s to come.  It appears I’d forgotten.

“It’s time” she said, “for the continuation of life to cycle.  To let go of the debris, intentionally watching it fall to the ground.  It’s a time of stripping, uncovering, exposing your true self...to yourself”, said Autumn in all her wisdom.  I winced as memories stirred of days gone by.   The truth of her words moving me as I again realized how well she knew me.

“I know the past few seasons have been difficult and you haven’t been able to enjoy what was offered you.  I’m thinking you’d rather just hang onto what was and is.  It’s almost easier.  However, you also know that remaining in this place won’t take you to new discoveries of what could be.  So as your friend, I’m here to remind you, to help you see and walk through these next few months with you.  

Remember our friend Mr Winter?  Well I bumped into him on a trip recently and he said he’s coming to see you.  I think he’ll be here closer to Christmas so you and I have some time to hang out before he arrives.  I know his presence has always made you feel peaceful even though he can appear cold and prickly at times.”

And even that she remembered.  

So I will, walk through this season with my lovely friend.  She’ll show me beauty and colours that I couldn’t have seen on my own.  Enable me to feel things I haven’t felt in a long while.  I know I will again.

I was...and am grateful for Autumn.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.