Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

The grandkids can cook...

Some of the grandkids (Julia, Claire and Will) came over this morning to make lemon squares for dessert. Turns out we have the perfect kitchen for three chefs and one supervisor. Two or three traverses between #1 Daughter's (Dana's) house and our house were necessary before we got everyone in the same place (ours) for lunch. As far as I can tell the two youngest ones (Maya and Owen) never eat, but they seem healthy enough, so perhaps they do it in secret. The rest of us enjoyed a splendid spread put together by #2 Son's (Matt's) wife (Amy) *

Now everyone has scattered to various places for a little break before the final frantic last minute preparations for the meal begin. Dana's husband (Jim) is always cheerful about going to the store (even on a holiday, and often more than once) and always brings about three times as much food as anybody could possibly eat., Dana sent me the following text:

"I asked Jim to get the turkey ready. He pulled it out, decided it wasn't big enough and ran out in search of a ham! Meanwhile the turkey is back in its box in the fridge..."

Now the ham is in our oven. I think a ten pound ham and a 17 pound turkey will probably stave off starvation even for 14 of us. The two little ones never eat...The bigger kids are keeping the little ones entertained--perfect!
The dogs have retired somewhere having cleaned the floor after lunch and are sleeping it off. #2 Son (Tim) and his wife (Joni) seem to have disappeared --perhaps savoring a rare moment of freedom!

I'm truly thankful for a close knit family who all like each other. I'm glad I stuck by my wish to have the group together, despite the fact that we just moved 5 days ago.

*I got a message from my brother's wife last night showing her 90 year old mother reading my blips. After further discussion with the family over dinner last night I've decided to start referring to them by their given names--they deserve it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.