Timberrrrr.....

Torrential rain and high winds overnight meant I was faced with this sight at the bottom of my garden this morning.
This Norway Spruce (Picea abies) died a couple of years ago, but fell during the night taking some smaller trees with it , and is now lodged in the branches of a Bramley Apple tree.

I was not able to measure the tree accurately, but by applying the Theorum of my good friend Pythagoras I was able to ascertain that if the sum of the squares is equal to a hippopotamus, then this is a jolly big tree and thank goodness I have a long garden.

On the plus side I see more logs for the fire if I can lure a man with a chain saw into the garden.

The ground is completely waterlogged and it is still raining heavily, there is water is creeping under the front door, so I'm writing this upstairs in bed, where it is somewhat damp, but not soggy!!


I wonder what the night will bring - and I'm not even going to suggest wet dreams - sleep well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.