Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Oh my dog!

So we’re on the beach in Tel Aviv and this guy goes by on his bike with three large dogs; and as he passes me I swing around to take the shot just as he runs into a very unimpressed woman coming the other way. You can read the FFS expression on her face without any need for an interpreter.

I love this place. We have had an awesome day. The walk down the front to Jaffa was in brilliant sunshine (32 degrees) and we had some fantastic lemonade in The Mandalay by Charles Clore Park. Coffee was pretty good too.

Jaffa shops and markets are a real treat. Lots of tat and some amazing vintage stuff at out of reach prices. My favourite shop had a BSA motorbike and sidecar out the front like my dad used to own but they owner was unimpressed with the connection when I told him the story. On the way out I noticed he had a sign which read “Prices are fixed. I don’t bargain. It is annoying and unnecessary”. Okay …

Lunched in a place where they did some lovely food - the babaganoush was awesome although the red chilli blew our heads off - and very decent wheat beer. The vibe was fantastic and the manager gave us free whiskeys, the three of us downing them in one, together. I think it was because I saw her doing shots with some mates and indicated by way of body language that I’d like to join in. TSM was enthusiastic even though she doesn’t normally drink whisky.

Jaffa itself looked even more beautiful than last time I was here, the old stone buildings and stepped alleyways are impossibly charming. We had another beer in a waterfront bar then walked back to the dance centre where we were yesterday and had another beer whilst watching the Pantam drummers strut their stuff. Pantam is the modern descendent of the Trinidadian steel drum. Great sound. Lots of families, kids blowing bubbles, great atmosphere.

Yes there was a lot of beer today.

They were drumming in the sabbath on the beach as well but it wasn’t nearly as alluring - although the sunset was lovely - so we didn’t hang around but came home and cooked something quick for supper. Then TSM realised she was about 800 steps short of 20k so we ran around the apartment together, did some exercises, danced and flailed until she hit the magic number.

Crazy lovely day. Lots of talking and laughing. Magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.