a visual grasp

When all is said and done, I prefer an artistic response of life. I like paintings and drawings. I listen to Bach, Arvo Pärt's Te Deum and John Tavener's Lament for Jerusalem. I like poetry and photography.

I want a visual grasp that is inspired by awe and mystery.

I enjoyed reading the book "Spiritual in art: abstract painting 1890-1985" the catalog for an exhibit mounted by the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

"By demonstrating the huge impact of mysticism and the occult on 20th-century artists from Gauguin to Pollack, Mondrian to O'Keefe, this work effectively refutes the popular fallacy that modernism is concerned solely with line, form, and color. Further, as it examines modernism's complex philosophical origins, it demonstrates that without such impact, abstract art as we know it would not have emerged at all. Seventeen essays, all by distinguished scholars, treat topics as diverse as synesthesia, theosophy, alchemy, hermeticism, Yoga, and Zen, and several overlooked or forgotten artists are given serious consideration." (Amazon Books)

I am more interested in art than in spirituality. But reading this book has shaped my goals for image making.

cropped photograph

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.