Chaloner Chute

This handsome chap lounging around on a tombstone is Chaloner Chute, a lawyer who purchased The Vyne in 1643; he died in 1649.  

I was on my way from home to Wareham for a weekend with the Visual Arts group of the Royal Photographic Society and decided to call in at this National Trust property for a quick look. I had not visited before and was intrigued having discovered that a Tring Choral Society friend is a member of the Chute family which passed the property over to the NT.
I had to get on my way too soon and had nowhere near enough time  to loo k round properly - another day.  The tomb is in the splendid Chapel of the Vyne and worth a visit just to see the Chapel - oozes history.

I am now at a hotel near Wareham for two days of photography and meetings - some great speakers and good company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.