Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

On the beach

We've arrived! After much fussing and fixing and packing and Laurie schlepping everything to the car, we left right at noon (my target time!) and arrived less than 3 hours later at Newport on the central Oregon coast. Traffic was minimal, driving was easy, rain non-existent.

One of our favorite things is to sit and watch the sun set. At first we thought this one wasn't going to amount to much in the way of color, but the darker it got, the more intense the colors. And it was one of those long, slow sunsets that we got to enjoy for a long time.

My first task here after unpacking was to take a luscious nap. There is nothing like sleeping with the sound of the ocean lulling you. I felt like I'd slept for hours, even though it was 30 minutes or so.

Our tradition for Thanksgiving (a newish tradition, but one that I think will last) is to get takeout from our favorite Lebanese restaurant the night before (enough to last us a few days) - falafel, mjadra, tahini, pita bread - and nibble on it all weekend. I declare this a successful Thanksgiving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.