BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

It is, it is ......

......... it's here somewhere, I just KNOW it is!!!!



Apologies for the not-so-sharp image ...... this was the scenario:

I'm talking to a friend on the phone and looking out of the kitchen window

I'm very surprised to see a squirrel hop over the fence (it's only about the fourth or fifth one I have ever seen in the garden in 20 years)

I go get my camera from the dining room - damn, it's got the 50mm prime lens on...

With phone jammed between head and shoulder, camera on table, I change the lens to the 70-300 (chattering away all the time - my friend does not really "get" blip - shock, horror)

Lens firmly attached, switch on camera (at least it's got a card in it!), go look for squirrel ..... hmmmm????

Aha, there he is sniffing the bread I put out for the birds (in the hopes that the birds get to eat it before they are set upon by the seven horrible murdering sweet little cats that live next door)

Mr Squirrel is very bouncy and running hither and thither - he runs under the apple tree - angle far to acute for me to get a shot

Back into the dining room (all the time I'm holding a normal conversation) and see him madly burrowing into the leaves - still can't get a shot, table, chairs in the way

Lay down flat on the floor, wriggle a bit (still talking) and can now just see him - phone in one hand, camera in the other - CLICK - one shot possible before he moves slightly and is out of sight behind the tree trunk.

Mr Squirrel then finds what he is looking for but all I can see is a bit of his tail - from the kitchen I can just see him eating whatever it was but not able to get any more images without opening the door and then I know he will make a run for it.

So here you have a headless Mr Squirrel - blurry in main because he was digging frantically and also because I was holding the camera one handed and taking the shot through the window - the dark, curved shape you see on the left of the photo is the tree trunk!!

All in all, though, thrilled to see Mr Squirrel in my garden - and was still talking to my totally-unaware friend 10 minutes later!!



NIKON D90 : f/5.6 : 1/13" : 300mm : ISO 400 : EV -1.0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.