Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Liquorice allsorts

That is the weather we had today.  It started off with a stunning sunrise.  I said to John as I looked out the window it is a good sunrise, get dressed.  We did and hightailed it out to catch the last of the colour.  I think we got dressed and gathered the cameras in less than a minute.

We drove after breakfrast to Arnastapi where there are fabulous basalt columnar cliffs and stacks.  We tried some long exposures but the wind was so fierce, not only did it blow John over (I nearly wet myself laughing) but there was simply too much movement in the camera.  After a sustaining coffee it was on to djúpalónssandur.  I have visited this place on my last two visits.  There is a black stony beach with bits of the Epine left on it still after it was shipwrecked and some interesting lava flows leading down to the beach.

We drove around until we came to our end destination, Kirkjufellsfoss.  It is a rather magnificent setting with the massive Kirkjufell mountain as a backdrop behind it.


I would love to try a few different things with this foss.  Today however the weather was liquorice allsorts and mainly in the afternoon lashing rain, sleet, snow and a significant hoolie of a wind.  So you get a 9 image panorama of it stitched in LR after most of the bus crowds had gone.  It does show the bleak weather this afternoon.  I hope my view finder demists or I will be in trouble.


Thanks so much for your love on yesterdays lights, I was so glad I could share the magical experience and one I won't forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.