Pictorial blethers

By blethers

All Under One Banner - again

It was sheer chance that our sojourn in Edinburgh on grandparenting duty should coincide with the latest march in favour of Scottish Independence, but always likely, this being the case, that I would take part. In the event, I was joined by my granddaughters and their father on a glorious Autumn afternoon that saw thousands file down the historic Royal Mile to Holyrood Park. Ironically, the rally was technically banned from using the park, but went anyway, while the Scottish Parliament opened its doors to marchers in need of what you might euphemistically call “facilities”. As this included airport-style security screening for every one of us, this was quite A Thing, and I felt pride as well as relief...

The photo shows some picturesque saltines passing St Giles Cathedral, though you can’t hear the pipe band and the cheers. Later I spotted my Westminster MP standing at the side of the road and took possibly the worst ever selfie with him and #1 granddaughter.

By the time we got back, we’re all half dead. Good day, though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.