Stained Glass Window

In church this morning my mind kept drifting to the stained glass window behind the alter. I started to see the celestial building as sitting above the alter, that the window was a representation of man's aim to reach the celestial kingdom. There is an incredible amount of detail in the windows - when I use a long range lens, you can see all the patches of colour have designs within them.

I then ended up thinking about the halo's. Jesus' halo in the window is white with 'embroidered' emphasis. The woman on the left pane has a golden halo, but by the right pane, it matches that of Jesus. I think this is because the right pane is Mary, Mother of Jesus. The middle one is Mary and Martha (one serves while the other listens), and the first? Is that Mary Magdalene? The name of the church is St Mary Magdalene's.

Got to take my eldest back to Uni today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.