In Which Dexter's Room Gets Cleaned

You all know that I have a tabbycat named Dexter. And Dexter has a room of his own. Before he arrived in our lives, it was a combination of a craft/sewing room (see those big containers of fabric?), give or take two racks of hiking boots and shoes. In the closet are coats, containers, and candles. I guess it must be the "C" closet. Who knew?

About twice a year, I take Dexter's whole room apart and dust and vacuum and tidy everything up. The blankets go in the wash and they come out sweet smelling and clean. I run the swiffer all around. I vacuum up the stray cat hairs and litter. It's awesome when it's done.

Dexter hates it, of course. He doesn't like to see his room torn apart. So I try to accomplish the task as quickly as possible. I get up in the morning. And as soon as my husband is up, I tear everything in the cat room apart, start the wash, and go to town on the cleaning.

Hey, somebody send in the maid. WAIT! I AM the maid!  On this morning, I accomplished everything in record time. Before 11 am, the room was back together, with Dexter sitting on the table by the window, overseeing the whole project, as cats are inclined to do.

From lower left, here are some of the items in his room: a fan, scratching posts, food and water bowls, a nice chair for napping, a table overlooking the front yard (with a box of cat toys in front, plus teddy bears), a cat igloo, a big scratching post, and a (clean) cat litter pan. There are two cat carriers - one big, one little - and cat toys out of scene to the lower right.

Now, it has been suggested to me that Dexter might be a little bit spoiled, but I am here to assure you that that's not the case. He's just a normal feline boy, hanging out in his clean, clean room on a Caturday afternoon, enjoying the day!

The soundtrack: the Monkees, with Good Clean Fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.