Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Steam Gala

The last day of the four day Steam Gala at the Great Central Railway with ten locomotives in steam today. I have a soft spot for this railway as I spent a day driving a steam train there a few years ago as part of a 'driver experience' bought for me by some friends, so I thought I would go up for a look and W said she would join me as she had no other plans. It's about 60 miles from home and straight up the motorway but unfortunately there had been a fairly serious accident so what should have taken us just over an hour actually took about three, and there was no real opportunity to give it all up and turn back for home. Anyway, although I'm not sure W would agree it was worth it in the end as I saw about seven of the locomotives running and got quite a few decent shots.

This was 70013 'Oliver Cromwell' approaching Quorn & Woodhouse station while an exhibition freight was passing the other way. I think that was hauled by Ivatt Class 2 No. 46521 but I can't be too sure as I got enveloped in a cloud of steam as it passed beneath me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.