Autumn In Leith

Such an early start. I was up at 6am to watch F1 live from Japan. I wasn't disappointed, it was a very good race made all the better by Lewis Hamilton winning, properly this week.

Later in the morning #2 Daughter had an appointment in Leith so we went along and had a walk along the Water of Leith. We were surprised to find much more evidence of autumn here than back in Cumbria. We had a coffee in a Turkish cafe over the bridge.

On our journey we met a man with a Komondor dog. I had never seen one in real life. When the man saw me looking as if I wanted to take a photo of it he turned it round to pose for me. He was telling me their breed was used for guarding sheep against wolves in Hungary. He likened them to Dougal.

The other thing I saw that I loved were murals near where we parked the car. A few years ago I began the development of a woodland in part of our garden. I planted bluebells, anemone blanda and ferns. I made some giant wooden toadstools. One side of this area is bounded by a white garage wall. I always imagined that I would paint a mural on it of a forest with the sun beams split by the trees. 

Maybe now I will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.