Fierceness

Another step forward. This morning a very skillful Sr Joaquim came to dig the channel for our water pipes and electricity wires. It will be wonderful to have cool showers in the heat, and unfrozen ones in the winter, and no wires snaking along the Land. I'm not a great machine lover, but the ease with which this mini monster dug up huge stones and created this channel was definitely impressive; would have taken forever by hand.

A quote from Steinbeck on keeping his diary, relevant for us Blippers, who I guess often feel our photo or our writing isn't as good as it could be, and who occasionally struggle with less than ideal conditions in which to Blip:
In writing, habit seems to be a much stronger force than either willpower or inspiration. Consequently there must be some little quality of fierceness until the habit pattern of a certain number of words is established. There is no possibility, in me at least, of saying, “I’ll do it if I feel like it.” One never feels like awaking day after day. In fact, given the smallest excuse, one will not work at all. The rest is nonsense. Perhaps there are people who can work that way, but I cannot. I must get my words down every day whether they are any good or not.

Paul has gone off with the Padre to check out the local Care Home, who knows, we might be in it one day...

And tonight, a farewell meal for him at the Padre's. Before that, need to go to Reguengos to get ingredients for Julia to make brownies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.