Raindrops keep fallin' on my car!

Today was the third day of continuous rain, and no, I was  not correct in suggesting two days ago that yesterday would see a flooded car park. It was in fact today. I spent two hours out and about this afternoon and took over 100 pictures and got soaked to the underwear for my trouble. Some nice policewomen let me go under the police tapes in a couple of places to get a better view 'as long as I didn't fall in'!

I feel so sorry for the owners of these cars - probably visitors who were not aware of what happens when it rains a  lot in Oban and have gone off on a trip to some island. I suppose these cars will be totally ruined now.

There's some good news though - it's going to stop raining at 2am tonight. There is also bad news - the tide is now coming in which prevents the Black Lynn from discharging into the sea, so it backs up and water levels will be rising again!

My extra is the Lon Mor, a flood plain which holds overflow from the Black Lynn when conditions occur such as we have today. It's usually simply damp ground. A local builder owns it and have been building houses along the edges for a while as you can see, and somebody on Facebook suggested building a hotel there!  Duh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.