NellieD

By NellieD

Too many bird houses

Today was my second full day volunteering at the food bank - and it was just as busy! On a Tuesday they get all the stock out ready for when the food bank opens on Wednesday. 

You hear so many terrible stories about what people have been through, you wonder how they can pick themselves up and carry on. No-one should have to live through such traumatic circumstances. The volunteers are amazing and deal with the most vulnerable women, putting smiles back on faces and self-worth into their hearts. 

I spent most of the afternoon with the head volunteer drafting a business plan for possible new premises. They desperately need a bigger and better space as they now have 29 organisations that refer to them. My other job is to help plan a 'celebration' of the food bank for 50 people - a perfect match for my skill set as I love to organise :)  

I didn't have a minute to think about getting a Blip today but did see this rather random street art on the side of a nearby pub - and it's driving me crazy! What on earth is it about? I can't find anything online and I want to know what the talking bird houses represent, why they all have a different numbers of holes and what's in the speech bubbles.

Quote for today:
When you find yourself tipped over by the gusts of life;
when you fall to the floor and shatter.
There are those who will walk around your pieces,
lest they cut themselves upon the scatter.
But others will pick up your broken bits,
they'll cherish all they can gather.
These are the ones to whom you must hold on forever -
not those who forsook you -
but the ones who glued you back together.
- Shakieb Orgunwall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.