Autumn Comes to Childhood's Gate

The Arboretum really does autumn up fabulously, and this time of year (as opposed to all of the others, I guess - *snicker-snort!*), I just can't stay away. I try to visit at least once or twice a week; sometimes more often. If you too enjoy pumpkin time, well, this one's for you.

This was my view as I hunkered down in the middle of Childhood's Gate, the children's garden at the Arboretum. Included in the scene are some fuzzy-wuzzy brown things, yellow flowers, gourds, and corn shocks. I've included the transformation canopy and the garden kaleidoscope in the background upper left.  :-)

For my soundtrack song, I've selected a tune that I always think about in the fall. It was a favorite in our family, and I think all of us kids could sing it word for word. 

He walked into the bar and parked his lanky frame upon a tall barstool
With a long soft Southern drawl said
"I'll just have a glass of anything that's cool"

Here is Cal Smith, with Country Bumpkin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.