shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Photo challenge

At the last QPCC Projected Image group night, we were set a task for the next session, which is on Tuesday coming, so it was kind of time to get down to it! I did have a quick go a few weeks ago, but wanted to take a bit more time with it. The challenge was in 3 parts - the first a self portrait, hmm, I may take along the one from when I did my pedantic red ballon bit back in April, but I'm much more interested in taking photos of anything that isn't me, hence the decision to do some work on parts 2 and 3, to photograph light object on light backgrounds and dark objects on dark backgrounds. I was most pleased with this shot, so here you go. After my wee trip to Remnant Kings yesterday, I had acquired this lovely off-cut to use as a background, which adds some interesting texture to anything, especially this particularly classy item of jewellery! Hmm, perhaps that's not quite the terminology... But I love the contrasting textures. It is lit with a single off camera speedlight high and to the right as you look at it, running manually at 1/32 power. I had my cheap slave flash out too for another, larger object I was using, especially on a white card, as there was a strong shadow, but I didn't need it for this.

Have a lovely weekend folks, I'm off to Dundee tomorrow for the Solas conference. Should be a good day, if not exactly restful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.