Transitoire

By Transitoire

Grenouille

So today, for the first time since I have been in France. Nay, the first time ever, I tried frogs' legs. Ironically in an all-you-can-eat Chinese Buffet...but I have now tried frogs' legs. I would say that les escargots are next on the menu - however I just don't think I could stomach it. For anyone who wants to know, frog pretty much tastes like chicken. Slight dissapointment, but doesn't it seem that most things taste like chicken?

Much better day than yesterday! After teaching my two classes of the day, I was remarkably cheered by them. Maybe this means my calling may indeed be as a teacher. All I know is I went into school still not fine, and left...well, a lot finer. My first class of the day were the quatrième EURO, and after a slightly embarrassing beginning (the teacher asked me to justify why I had given some students such low marks on an oral test, because they didn't speak, and asked if I could re-do their test. This time they had definitely revised and I was able to put both of them up two marks...but is that really what should happen? Who knows!) I took 10 of the students and made them speak English. As it was a bit more of an informal environment than with a teacher or in a test, they really flourished and spoke entirely in English for the hour that I had them! I started with a chat about what they had done on holiday (anything from staying at home, going to New York or Paris) and then a very swift lesson on how you can say "I visited my grandma's" and not have to say "I visited the house of my grandmother" I started a debate for them. As I had three boys and seven girls, I decided it would be most interesting to make a team of girls and a mixed team and set them debating "Girls are better than boys". Girls won. Am I allowed to say obviously? My favourite argument was "Boys are more romantic" countered with "No, only in films"! I gave each team points for using good linking phrases ("I agree with your point but..."), good arguments, and debating back gave them two points and speaking in French at any point lost them a point. A perfect way to stop any French occurring!

My second class was the sixième INTER, and as last time I took half the class (four!) and discussed the book they were reading. As I had a mixed ability group (bilingual to nearly there) we moved a bit quicker than the lesson before where I had only the weak ones. However, I'm not sure whether the weakest student managed to keep up. I hope so! As they are a class of ten, eleven year olds they really are sweet and have some absolutely hilarious ideas about what they think the main character is thinking. In the chapter we were reading the boy talked about his love for his teacher, to which everyone thought could never happen and never would, Kind of glad they said that, as one of the boys in the group is the son of my responsable!

After going home and having a long-awaited Skype with my parents, I went out to meet the girls for a meal out. Definitely needed to talk to my parents to get things into perspective and see what the best way to continue is. I'm so lucky to have the two of them. Anyways, back to our meal. Escaping from Caen we went to Monteville to a Chinese buffet...and very nice it was too. "The girls" being Claire, Becky, Laura and Kendra...and also a new addition of Kendra's best friend Rosemary, visiting from America. Was lovely to get to know her better, although I already felt like I knew her quite well because of all Kendra had said about her! Such a lovely girl, and wow has she been to some amazing places, ever so slightly jealous...

Words I learnt today:-
- Average - moyen
- Deceive - tromper
- Meerkat - suricate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.