Alnmouth Dawn

Dawn, but  not as we know it. The darkness got less but there was never any sign of colour in the sky. The clouds reached right down to sea level.

Alnmouth is a lovely little place with a very noticeable hill topped by a cross, St Cuthbert's Cross. There seemed to be many more boats here than I've seen before but that maybe the time of year I suppose. In the past I've found it easy to isolate boats or groups of boats for a composition but today I had to take a lot of care and do a lot of editing to remove boats encroaching on my composition. 'Mizpah' is one of the two boats that have been included in classic compositions. She's a traditional wooden coble, native to the north eastern coast. The other one 'Marean' sadly, is no longer moored here. Mizpah's beautiful paintwork looks to be in need of a good scrub at the moment.

My early morning foray didn't bring the results I'd hoped but I wasn't surprised, the forecast suggested it might be but it might be best part of the day and it was good to be out.

The house has filled up today. The boys, Matthew and Peter arrived with their girlfriends. It's Matthew's birthday today (he's the one who's getting married on Saturday. Their sister, Jen also came over this evening with her two little ones,  who are a lot bigger since I last saw them. They're not staying though, it's a school day tomorrow.

We're moving off to Durham tomorrow, which is where the wedding is going to be held.

I've added a few more from this morning here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.