Glastonbury Tor

Day 2 of my mini-break saw me heading for Glastonbury, somewhere I have wanted to visit for a long time. The weather wasn't too bright, but I spent a happy morning wandering round the Abbey ruins, soaking up the atmosphere and wondering what this huge building would have looked like had Henry VIII not decided to dissolve the monastries and religious communities who opposed his split from Rome.

The afternoon saw me trudging up to the top of Glasonbury Tor.  There was a fierce wind blowing at the top, making standing still hard, let alone taking sharp photos!  The rain clouds moving around the 360 degree view didn't help.

I must admit that I had thought that tower (extra), all that remains of St Michael's Church, was the Tor - but no, it's the conical hill of clay and Blue Lias rising from the softer stone of the Somerset Levels.

This is a view halfway done from a more calmer position up to the top of the hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.