Remember the horses that fell with the men

I had expected to blip something form London this morning, probably a picture from Westminster Bridge, which I walked over on my way to a meeting of the Joint Ministerial Committee.

However in Whitehall, just opposite the Cenptaph, I noticed this . Apparently a million horses took part in the First World War, but only 60,000 survived. The more I read on line as I made my way back to Edinburgh after the meeting, the more I became fascinated - and the more moving the story became. I now will make a point of trying to see “Warhorse”.

I found and still find the wreath itself unutterably sad and haunting. It stayed with me all day, up to , and including, my long journey home (on the Rest and Be Thankful diversion) after appearing on BBC Question Time in the Scottish Parliament.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.