Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Still standing

In case you thought that everything was just that little bit too peachy, there has, in fact, been something of a song and dance going on behind the scenes.

Last Tuesday, when I blipped my study-bedroom, I did cheat a little; I showed the desk in place with the lap top sitting on top of it and the chair in front, but in fact, the brackets supposed to fix the desk to the rest of the structure hadn't arrived, so it was all balanced rather precariously. When I climbed into bed that night the desk fell to the floor – thankfully no lasting damage was done to the laptop, but the camera was a little shaken up and, as a result of that, so was I.

I have been on to the suppliers to request the little brackets to fix the desk to the rest of the structure because try as I might, I have been unable to find anything suitable locally – even at Wickes! It has taken an unbelievable number of emails and photographs to explain to them exactly what was missing from the original delivery. Yesterday I received an entire replacement 5kg bag of the full hardware set, still missing the desk brackets. I had a bit of a rant.

Today, Joy! The correct brackets arrived. I fixed the brackets to the timber structure and then marked and drilled corresponding holes in the underside of the desk. And then I used the prescribed 15mm screws to fix the desk to the brackets.

Unfortunately, the prescribed (and provided in the hardware kit, twice) 15mm screws are actually 18mm in length and have gone right through the top surface of the desk, well, only one has, I know when to stop if things aren't going swimmingly.

I have apologised to the suppliers for being under-happy but have requested a replacement desk.
Meanwhile, all internet activity is still conducted standing up in front of the fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.