Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Tom, George & Michael

When we meet people for the first time we introduce ourselves with the name we want them to know us by. I imagine that Yoda is perhaps not the name on his birth cert, just as Tivoli does not feature on mine.

I have now met neighbours with initials I, J, K, L, M, as well as O, P and B and C. I'm really crossing my fingers for an N to complete the flush. I meet them on the stairs but I do not hear them through the walls. That much is the privilege of only the pigeons.

I have been told that this building was once a radio station, and that might explain why the sound-proofing is streets ahead of the plumbing. I suspect, that if it really were a radio station, it is far more likely to have been related to Bletchley Park than to something in the public domain.

Arriving at work this morning there was a dramatic power outage. Door entry and lighting were victims, as well as IT (natch) but the phones were still live, so I used my free time to call the toll-free number to sort out a phone line and internet connection at home. And when that was done and the spark was still estimating 90 minutes to get us functioning again, I asked permission and hopped on the bike and whizzed round to the Council.

Maria on reception was fantastically helpful with advice, names, numbers and websites I should put on my “To Do” list.

Home this evening and I have registered with the Council, The Electric Company and the Water Company in addition to the Telephone Company I registered with from the darkened office this morning.

And all of them in the name I prefer to use.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.