Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

At lunchtime the tide was ripping up the Medway, coming in really fast, but probably not for a great deal longer, it looked as high as I had ever seen it.
A happy little tug was pulling home what looked like a plywood freight container with windows, or a double-decker trailer home. Aquatic did not seem to be its natural habitat.
But it was gloriously sunny and two young goons were hoofing it up at very high speeds in what I can only assume are single occupant Commando assault vessels. They were slaloming around the buoys which I imagine indicate the low tide mark, making handbrake turns at the end of each run and sending up massive plumes of wake.
It was great exercise for my triple-screen-weary eyes.
I tried action shots, but at that distance they were mostly disappointingly blurred.

I've bunged in some extras, none of them with any photographic brilliance, really just to share what was going on at the river today. I've got bucket-loads of extras left in my allowance and today the little Sony took its 9,999th photo :-) so that's a milestone in itself :-)

You can just see in the background of the main picture, the vapour trails left by the other two guys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.