Fishine

It is amazing how much I um and ar about taking the boat out on the weekend. I always enjoy myself when I do though. This afternoon was no exception. I went out to my "secret" spot in the middle of the bay. It is a small reef, or more than likely a wreck, that I found and marked on the GPS. The fish aren't massive but there are plenty of them. It amuses me that most of the other boaties fish about a kilometre away on the island drop off and here I am in the middle of what should be deep water, catching fish.

The highlight of my afternoon was a 4ft shark I caught, the biggest I have ever managed to get to the boat. For fun I hung a pilchard 2 metres below a float, and let it drift. The water was maybe 4.5 metres. Sharks and mid to surface water hunters. I was close to giving up when my rod went bang and the shark ran most of the line off the reel before it stopped. I reeled it in and got it next to the boat. It was too big to haul on board with the net, probably not a bad thing actually. And of course, I was too busy to get a photo.

I had a good afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.