Grey Towers

Grey towers of Durham, Yet well I love thy mixed and massive piles. Half church of God, half castle 'gainst the Scot, And long to roam these venerable aisles, With records stored of deeds long since forgot.

So said Sir Walter Scott and I know because it's inscribed on the bridge that I took this blip from. It's been a very grey and rainy day to roam the streets and river banks of the city but that's exactly what I've done. I set out with George, Ann and Lady Marian and took the route up to the cathedral. At that point, with no photography allowed, I decided to walk back and along the river. Unfortunately they're rebuilding or refurbishing Central Tower and that has meant alternative views and crops were necessitated to avoid including the wrapped scaffolding in my shots.

My blip shows the grey towers of the cathedral as well as the lovely autumn colours of the trees. The building on the opposite side is the Durham School Boathouse.

The rain did pause for a short while during my walk but soon came back with a vengeance. If you look at my other shots from the day you'll be able to see the rain on the water as well as a disconsolate shag wanting to dry its wings. 

I headed back to the hotel eventually and took off my wet clothes. I brought clothing to keep me warm in these northern climes but hadn't thought to bring wet weather gear. I've never found a use for the trouser press that's so often provided but it has come in handy today to dry my jeans.

As I walked back to the hotel I saw a young man walking in the opposite direction whose face was very familiar. I was aware that he wouldn't know me from Adam but I had to stop and say hello to NickyR's son Luke. He was very courteous and interested as I'd expected. Blipworld is a bit unusual in the way that you know many people you've never met and probably never will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.