lovelife209

By mindful_life

Fallen Tree

There is no doubt that the weather has been pretty rotten in the last few days and this morning was no exception! I rose at the crack of dawn to take my son swimming (6.45 start) and he was delighted to see a red fox as we drove along. The weather was wet and windy! 

Afterwards my daughter went off to gymnastics and he went to football and I headed out for my run in the wind and the rain, although it wasn't as blustery as yesterday! I am listening to a new book and am getting really into it - I didn't want my run to end as each chapter was really good! I asked for a Stephen King recommendation from a friend who is a big fan and she suggested The Shining so that is my audio book for now.

When I was nearly home I saw this broken tree across the path! It is a shame to see this but I am not surprised as the weather has been awful.  On looking for a quote to use in my blip I came across a poem which I loved so thought I would share it. I think when you read it you will get an understanding of the meaning behind it.

The Oak Tree by Johnny Ray Ryder Jr


A mighty wind blew night and day
It stole the oak tree's leaves away
Then snapped its boughs and pulled its bark
Until the oak was tired and stark.


But still the oak tree held its ground
While other trees fell all around
The weary wind gave up and spoke
How can you still be standing Oak?


The oak tree said, I know that you
Can break each branch of mine in two
Carry every leaf away
Shake my limbs, and make me sway,


But I have roots stretched in the earth,
Growing stronger since my birth
You'll never touch them, for you see,
They are the deepest part of me.


Until today, I wasn't sure
Of just how much I could endure
But now I've found, with thanks to you
I'm stronger than I ever knew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.