The only Falcon that stayed still.....

This American Kestrel was the only bird that I was to able to sneak up on and take a lovely picture despite a lack of light... I saw so many beautiful birds and even a dozen white tailed deer that i had no chance of getting a picture..

In the first extra you have a female redwing blackbird (they were hanging around with the males so I think it is), two views of the landscape and just one heron. A bird I really wanted to see..  

As I was trying to decide if I wanted to stay with the birds or head to the hills... I decided to head to the hills. Mt Saint Helens blew just 37 years ago and I have never seen the south side. I knew I would see Mt Adams as it is so close by but as my second extra shows, I saw the top of Mt Rainier AND Mt Hood too.. The lake is Spirit Lake. Those are trees that are still floating after being leveled when the mountain blew.. It was eerie to go from lush forest to barren land with ash still visible and yet nature slowly coming back.. Oh I also have a bonus fuzzy photo of a few elk that was seen a long ways off... 

It was a perfect Saturday that was much needed.. Heading home tomorrow, mowing the lawn with company coming up on Monday and then do the other little things to get ready for the week.. Thanks to everyone for the encouraging words over the last few days//  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.