Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Beata

It was pouring down rain when I first got up, so I rolled over and went back to sleep. When mom’s caregiver showed up at 11:00 I was still in bed. It felt great to finally have gotten some quality sleep. I never heard the plethora of texts that came in. Kim, my real estate agent, informed me that I had to get everything that I wanted to keep out of the house by tomorrow. The estate sale folks will start going through things and setting up on Monday with the goal of having the sale on Thursday. So much for procrastinating on a lot of decisions.

I needed an escape this afternoon so I went to lunch at my favorite cafe. The photo is of Beata, the server who puts up with me when I’m goofy and always has coffee ready for me. I showed up an hour before closing and the first thing she said was that she had just made a fresh pot. When I asked how she knew I was coming she said she smelled me nearby. So she can dish it out as much as she takes it.

Beata is from Poland and speaks English pretty well. She tries really hard to enunciate and speak slowly so the patrons can understand her. I was the last person in the place today and told her I wanted to take her picture. She wasn’t thrilled with the idea but after I told her I would chase her into the back if necessary, she relented. This is her ‘come on and get it over, Laurie‘ pose.

I need to get home now. (I’m hiding in the snack area in Sprouts.) I’m going to pick up just a couple of things to make chili later. It’s the “chilliest” day since early last spring (65/18) The humidity is 91%. It’s probably not what you think of it being like in the desert. At least the air is fresh and clean and I can breathe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.