Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sitting pretty

This is a reminder that our driver will be with you between 10am and 4pm to deliver your purchase. Thank you for helping us to Beat Heartbreak Forever.”

Table £25, two chairs £10 each, plus delivery £20 on the day of my choice and up all the stairs. Including removing a leaf from the table to get it in through my narrow hallway and offering to refit it once inside.

It won't, of course, beat heartbreak forever, but I cannot think of a better day to try.

So this is my little flat looking the other way. My new pre-loved table and pair of pre-loved chairs plus my own cherished dish and bowl. The archway to the left revealing my teeny-tiny kitchen where I have been standing to use my laptop for the last fortnight. The doorway to the right giving a glimpse of my teeny-tiny hallway and bathroom leading off it, complete with bamboo laundry basket and pre-loved Towie the duck rescued from Kastani beach in March. A lifetime ago.

****************

This is one of those dates that takes me back. I know where I was 28 years ago at noon and 3pm and at 5, and at 7, and I know how I spent the following day. I notice it more when it falls on a Sunday and so I also clearly remember travelling with my sister on a Sunday six years ago to Kastraki in the shadow of the monasteries at Meteora and sitting outside after dark at a roadside taverna with checked tablecloths and ordering something which was predominantly aubergine.

****************

Yoda is the perfect neighbour, he sees a regular customer pull in on the other side of the road in a wobbly fashion. He leaves his shop and crosses the road to help the driver out of the car, walks him back across the road and brings him into his shop, at which point he suggests that it might be better all round if the car remains just where it is and and he will phone a local cab to take the driver home. I am loving Chatham!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.