a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Meet Freddy

I know it's been a VERY long time since I've posted here....I hope you don't mind me popping in again with some photos!

I've decided to do the 'Elf on the Shelf' with Jack this year. He's now six and let's just say that his behavior isn't quite what it was a year ago. Blame it on school? Just getting older? TV? Bad parenting? Who knows....all I know is I can use all of the help I can get in getting Jack to behave a bit more!

If you haven't heard of Elf on the Shelf, it is a little 'doll' elf that comes with a book to read to the child explaining how it all works. You would typically read it on Thanksgiving night here in the states, and the story tells you that you will get your own elf that will show up while you are asleep. You get to name your elf, and every night he reports to Santa Claus with your behavior for the day. Hopefully it will be good news, but sometimes it's not. When he is done talking to Santa, he magically transports back to your home and shows up in a different spot each morning. Now, he does like to have fun, and is known to get in to some shenanigans while you are asleep. Oh....and you can't touch him....ever. If you do, he loses his 'magic power' and can't fly back to Santa at night!!

We read the story to Jack last night and he was pretty excited. He couldn't wait to wake up to 'meet' his elf. In the morning, this is where Jack found him....sitting on his drum set with drumsticks in his hands. Jack thought it was pretty funny. He named him "Freddy"...(which also happens to be a nickname we call Jack, and is also the name of his late great grandfather.)

A few time during the day, I caught Jack sitting in front of him, looking at him closely, and even sang to him. He told me he was POSITIVE that the elf looked at him and gave a great big smile when he sang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.