WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

The church of Sant Pere, Begur

Today I decided to be serious and lug my tripod along on my bliphunt. I've been meaning to photograph the church for ages, so that seemed like a good place to start. I have to say I have hardly used the tripod since I bought it a couple of months ago, and there was lots of discreet grumbling while I tried to attach the camera using the "quick release" plate -- I should have practised at home first. Finally I did it and took several shots using only the natural daylight coming into the church. It was quite dark in there! I'm not saying this is a fantastic photo, but it is an attractive church, and I'm just posting it for the record. The church was originally founded in the 12th century, with additions in the 16th and 17th, and is in late Gothic style.

For my next challenge I set the tripod up in one of the more modest streets in Begur, and tried some more HDR experiments. What can I say? I do find using the tripod a hassle, and it certainly doesn't allow for spontaneity, but it made a huge difference. Here you go. Almost no fuzzy edges, except for the walking man, and the exposure in this high-contrast scene seems pretty much perfect to me. Again, the composition isn't fantastic, but I'm pleased with it in technical terms.

I rewarded myself with a beer and patatas bravas with allioli at the bar in the square. While there I sneakily used live-view mode (it's difficult to be discreet with an SLR) to snap what the people at the next table were having. I'm not a fan of oysters, but I thought they looked attractive, and they were nearly my blip for today. If I'd had more control I'd have removed the sandwich menu from the scene!

And, my final achievement for the day, I made four jars of mincemeat and lavished more brandy on the Christmas cakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.